niedziela, czerwca 06, 2010

Mount Kimbie - Crooks & Lovers [2010, PROMO, hotflush recordings]

19 july 2010
lbl: Hotflush Recordings
dubstep, downtempo, uk-garage, techno, acoustic

01. Tunnelvision
02. Would Know
03. Before I Move Off
04. Blind Night Errand
05. Adriatic
06. Ruby
07. Carbonated
08. Ode to Bear
09. Field
10. Mayor

Dominic Maker & Kai Campos 

note: Adding a percussive and experimental edge to the current class of post-dubstep pioneers, Mount Kimbie, the duo of Dominic Maker and Kai Campos – are set to release their highly anticipated debut album ‘Crooks & Lovers’ on Scuba’s Hotflush label in July.

Mount Kimbie’s first two EPs – ‘Maybes’ and ‘Sketch On Glass’ – seemed like explorations of spaces so private that all within earshot were instantly turned into voyeurs. The experience was less like listening to music and more like eavesdropping on the machinations of a lone mind – albeit a lone mind surrounded by and retreating from millions of other minds.

Difficult to categorise, the lush EPs caused a commotion when released last year with ‘Sketch On Glass’ recently undergoing reworks from the likes of Falty DL, SCB (Scuba’s darker techno alias) and their sometime collaborator James Blake. With their own remixes (Foals and The xx) becoming hot property, Mount Kimbie have been a core part of the growing scene in London often associated with labels like Hyperdub and Hessle Audio.

Dom and Kai met whilst at Southbank University, pushed together in a student halls that was previously a mental asylum – where the ceilings were still ridiculously high to stop patients hanging themselves: “a cold, joyless, concrete building – the sort of building where you’d drop a pen and the sound would just go on and on in an echo.”

Armed with found sound snips and a siege mentality, Kai and Dom set about turning London’s ambience into rhythm, its chaos into coherence. Traces of influence remain – the hard-earned spaces of Burial and The Bug vie with the berserk melodrama of Xiu Xiu and Grouper’s sad-eyed glow, D’Angelo’s pervert soul gets cleansed in the intimacy of Phil Elvrum’s Microphones, Angelo Badalamenti’s swollen ‘Twin Peaks’ atmospheres find a cradle in Madlib’s lax lope.

The band’s sound and response to the dubstep moment is very much their own. Sceneless and untethered from etiquette and genre codes, ‘Crooks & Lovers’ floats through dubstep and hip-hop, jazz, techno and ambient, post-rock, UK garage and film scores to startling effect." - ST Holdings.


[22 november 2016]
& buy it here.
[Sound Of The Universe, £ 8.99]

8 komentarzy:

  1. great blog man, good stuff....

    although your scoring is seriously wrong, you gave this lp 7.3 but the informaation lp 9.0???

    i have to ignore your recommendations, abit misleading.

    you have unique taste that is personal to you, when scoring you should take this into account. your scoring is not an accurate reflection of the good music you have here.

  2. it's my personal score, nothing serious and i don't understand objectivness and 'accurate reflection of the good music', it's only your phantasy :)

  3. Thanks you so much. Great blog, so much win stuff here and up to date!!! I thought I'd ask if you've got anything by Jesse Somfay other than his stellar release from last year, A Catch in the Voice? I've been searching all over the net and simply cannot find any of his other albums or 12"s anywhere. Any help or redirection would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

  4. Hubba, could you re-up?


  6. there has been a bad copy of this floating around so just watch out... if "Field" is less than 2 minutes you got the bad one.


Uwaga: tylko uczestnik tego bloga może przesyłać komentarze.